Sunday, 22 July 2018

Robert Smith Sits In For Iggy Pop - 6 Music 15th June 2018

ROBERT SMITH SITS IN FOR IGGY POP - 6 MUSIC 15.06.18 (320kbs-m4a/259mb/1hr53mins)
BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 15th June 2018

Robert Smith from The Cure sits in for Iggy Pop with a special show reflecting his curation of this year's Meltdown Festival at London's Southbank Centre.

Robert gives you an insight into the curation process and the overriding theme of his choice of acts for this year. Taking you from the alternative rock of The Psychedelic Furs, through the Japanese instrumental post-rock of Mono, the electronica of Eat Static and even over to the singer-songwriter styling of Suzanne Vega.

Smith is the lead singer and principal songwriter of The Cure, and its only constant member since the group formed in 1978.

Now in its 25th year, Meltdown Festival takes place at London's Southbank Centre, the arts complex including the Royal Festival Hall, the Queen Elizabeth Hall and Purcell Room. Previous curators of Meltdown have included David Bowie, Yoko Ono, Scott Walker, Nick Cave, Laurie Anderson and Jarvis Cocker.

The Psychedelic Furs - India
Placebo - The Bitter End [Hut Music]
65daysofstatic - Radio Protector
Vessels - Radiart
Alcest - Kodama
Eat Static - In All Worlds (Feat. Robert Smith)
Suzanne Vega - Small Blue Thing
God Is An Astronaut - Shores Of Orion
Death Cab For Cutie - The New Year [Fierce Panda]
Maybeshewill - Sanctuary
Kiasmos - Drawn
MONO - Halo
The Libertines - Heart Of The Matter [Virgin EMI]
The Notwist - Boneless
Manic Street Preachers - A Design For Life [Global Television]
Nine Inch Nails - Every Day Is Exactly The Same
Low - Point Of Disgust
Kristin Hersh - Crooked
My Bloody Valentine - Blown A Wish
Frightened Rabbit - I Feel Better
Mogwai - Batcat
The Cure - The Same Deep Water As You

No comments:

Post a comment