Tuesday, 24 July 2018

25 Years Of Meltdown

25 YEARS OF MELTDOWN (320kbs-m4a/132mb/57mins)
BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 17th June 2018

Jarvis Cocker looks back on 25 years of the Meltdown Festival featuring David Byrne, Guy Garvey, John Peel and others. Among the highlights is the fact that Jeff Buckley's last UK performance was at Meltdown, having been booked by that year's curator, Elvis Costello. Other notable curators over the years have been David Bowie, MIA, and Jarvis Cocker himself.

David Bowie - Weeping Wall
Jarvis Cocker - Black Magic
George Benjamin, Three Inventions - Ensemble Intercontemporain
Nikolai & Valery Mongoush - Tuvan throat singing
Bang On A Can All Stars - Unknown
Elvis Costello & The Attractions - Radio Radio [Universal Music Tv]
Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah [Warner Strategic Marketing]
Laurie Anderson - O Superman
Laurie Anderson - Tightrope
Laurie Anderson - O Superman
The Jesus And Mary Chain - Just Like Honey [Emperor Norton]
Robert Wyatt - Shipbuilding [Rough Trade]
The Cure - Love Cats [Fiction]
David Bowie - Be My Wife [EMI]
X‐Press 2 - Lazy (Feat. David Byrne) [NOW]
Pete Doherty - Chim Chim Cheree
Yoko Ono - Beautiful Boys
John Lennon - Woman
John Lennon - Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
New York Dolls - Courageous Cat Theme
Nina Simone - I Put A Spell On You [Global Television]
Wink - Higher State Of Consciousness [Manifesto]
Spiritualized - Oh Happy Day

No comments:

Post a comment