Monday, 25 February 2019

The First Time With... Series 19 - 1. Tom Morello

THE FIRST TIME WITH... SERIES 19 - 1. TOM MORELLO (320kbs-m4a/129mb/56mins)
BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 6th January 2019

Matt Everitt kicks off the new series with musician, actor and political activist, Tom Morello.

The one-time Rage Against the Machine guitarist and lyricist reveals what it was like being in the 90-00s rap metal band that set out to become the “political Led Zeppelin”, known for its power fusion of metal riffs, hip hop and impassioned lyrics.

Tom also gives an insight into the music and social environment that shaped his early life, his unique guitar playing, and when he first discovered that rock music could provide a real platform for protest.

He talks to Matt about the formation Rage Against The Machine, the internal dynamic that eventually led to the band splitting up, as well as his relationship with the late Soundgarden singer Chris Cornell, with whom he formed Audioslave in 2001.

Plus Tom gives the low down on channelling his passion for protest into supergroups, such as Prophets of Rage, featuring members of RATM, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill, along with news about this latest project, The Atlas Underground.

Rage Against The Machine - Bombtrack
Rage Against The Machine - Guerilla Radio
The Sweet - Little Willy [7T's]
Kiss - Detroit Rock City
The Clash - London Calling [Polydor]
Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train [Sony Music]
Rage Against The Machine - Know Your Enemy [Epic]
Public Enemy - Fight The Power [Polygram Tv]
Rage Against The Machine - Renegades Of Funk
Rage Against The Machine - Bullet In The Head
Rage Against The Machine - Killing In The Name [Epic]
Audioslave - Cochise [Sony Music]
Prophets Of Rage - Prophets Of Rage [Caroline]
The Atlas Underground - Lucky One

No comments:

Post a comment