Friday, 20 April 2018

The First Time With... Series 8 - 6. James Murphy

THE FIRST TIME WITH... SERIES 8 - 6. JAMES MURPHY (320kbs-m4a/131mb/57mins)
BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 29th January 2018

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem shares the musical milestones of his life with Matt Everitt in a programme first broadcast in 2014.

When acclaimed US band LCD Soundsystem bowed out at Madison Square Garden in 2011, it seemed that the group's founder, singer, songwriter and producer James Murphy had achieved everything he could ever have possibly imagined. Starting off as a child obsessed with sound, doing his time as a drummer in underground New York bands, learning how to engineer sound for live groups, becoming a DJ, remixer and setting up his own label (the acclaimed Death from Above) - all these experiences fed directly into forming LCD in 2001.

James talks about that journey and the music that inspired him to take it, as well as LCD's three-album career and what led him to disband the outfit at the height of their fame and success. He also tackles the myriad of projects that have followed the end of his band, including producing Arcade Fire, remixing David Bowie, launching his own coffee brand and creating a gigantic bespoke 50,000-watt touring sound system called Despacio.

LCD Soundsystem - North American Scum [EMI]
LCD Soundsystem - All My Friends [DFA]
Gang Of Four - Damaged Goods [EMI]
David Bowie - Fame [EMI]
Gilbert O’Sullivan - Alone Again (Naturally) [Castle]
Iggy & The Stooges - Penetration [Essential]
The Rapture - House Of Jealous Lovers [DFA]
LCD Soundsystem - All I Want [Parlophone]
LCD Soundsystem - Losing My Edge [DFA/EMI]
LCD Soundsystem - Yeah (Crass Version) [DFA]
LCD Soundsystem - Dance Yrself Clean [DFA]
Arcade Fire - Reflektor [Mercury]
Suicide - Diamonds, Fur Coat, Champagne [Mute]
The Fall - Bill Is Dead [Mercury]

No comments:

Post a comment