Thursday, 25 July 2019

Sound Of Cinema - 243. Electronica

SOUND OF CINEMA - 243. ELECTRONICA (320kbs-m4a/134mb/58mins)
BBC Radio 3 broadcast: 8th June 2019

Inspired by the release of 'Gloria Bell' with a new score by electronic musician Matthew Herbert, this week's programme with Matthew Sweet, looks back on the synth score, including the work of Jerry Goldsmith, John Carpenter, Carmine Coppola, Vangelis, Wendy Carlos, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, and Daft Punk.

The programme features music from 'The Illustrated Man'; 'A Clockwork Orange'; 'Dark Star'; 'Halloween'; 'The Thief'; 'Midnight Express'; Apocalypse Now'; 'Tron'; 'Chariots of Fire'; 'Tron Legacy" and 'The Social Network'. Matthew also talks to composer Matthew Herbert about his new synth based score for Gloria Bell.

Johann Sebastian Bach
- Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 In G (1st mvt, Allegro) [CBS Masterworks]
Jerry Goldsmith - The Illustrated Man (1969) - Main Title [Silver Age Classics]
Jerry Goldsmith - The Illustrated Man (1969) - The Veldt - Quiet Evening [Silver Age Classics]
Wendy Carlos - A Clockwork Orange (1972) - Funeral March For Queen Mary [Warner Bros.]
John Carpenter - Dark Star (1974) - Title Theme [Sacred Bones]
John Carpenter - Halloween (1974) - Main Title [Varèse Sarabande]
Edgar Froese - Thief (1981) - Beach Theme [Virgin]
Giorgio Moroder - Midnight Express (1978) - Theme [Casablanca]
Carmine Coppola - Apocalypse Now (1979) - Strange Voyage [Elektra]
Wendy Carlos - Tron (1982) - Theme From Tron [Walt Disney]
Vangelis - Chariots Of Fire (1981) - Titles, Abraham's Theme, Eric's Theme [Polydor]
Daft Punk - Tron Legacy (2010) - Overture, Recogniser [Walt Disney]
Matthew Herbert - Gloria Bell (2019) - Home [Milan]
Matthew Herbert - Gloria Bell (2019) - Title Theme [Milan]
Trent Reznor - The Social Network (2010) - Intriguing Possibilities [The Null Corporation]

No comments:

Post a comment