Friday, 24 May 2019

Stuart Maconie's Freak Zone - A Tribute To Scott Walker

BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 21st April 2019

Stuart pays tribute to a true pioneer of the avant-garde, the late Scott Walker - highlighting deep cuts from across his often surreal and startling career and digging into the BBC interview archives for defining moments. Leifur James offers up warped classical maximalism, there’s more from the burgeoning Turkish psych-folk scene by Altın Gün and Brazil’s Deafkids are back with a new album of ritualistic, sinister electro-noise.

Scott Walker - The Old Man's Back Again (Dedicated To The Neo-Stalinist Regime) [Mercury]
Henge - Demilitarise [Platinum Rare]
Altın Gün - Leyla [Glitterbeat]
Scott Walker - Tilt [Fontana]
Vanishing Twin - Krk (At Home In Strange Places) [Fire]
Deafkids - Raíz Negativa (Não-Vontade) [Neurot Recordings]
Scott Walker - Such A Small Love [Fontana]
Scott Walker - Phrasing [4AD]
Scott Walker - Pilgrim [4AD]
The Silver Field - Gost [O Genesis]
Scott Walker - Track Seven [Virgin]
Daniel Avery - Think About What You Love [Phantasy Sound]
s t a r g a z e & Greg Saunier - Walken's Syndrome [Transgressive]
Leifur James - Wurlitzer [Night Time Stories]
Logos - Marsh Lantern [Different Circles]
Scott Walker & Sunn O))) - Bull [4AD]
Raketkanon - Ricky (Radio Edit) [Alcopop!]
Evil Dick - Bernie Worrell's Prize-Winning Courgette [Self-Released]
The Walker Brothers - Nite Flights [Columbia]
Wu-Lu - Seven [The Vinyl Factory]
The Coral - Goodbye (Live At The 6 Music Festival 2019)
Jess Billington - Not A Love Song / RIP The Band Aid [Self-Released]
Hey Colossus - Memory Gore [Rocket Recordings]
Scott Walker - Light [Barclay]

No comments:

Post a comment