Saturday, 8 September 2018

The Queen Of Soul: The Legend Of Aretha Franklin - 1. Episode 1

BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 19th August 2018

Following the sad death of the great Aretha Franklin on 16th August, Paul Sexton introduces episode one of an in-depth profile of the highly talented and influential vocalist, first broadcast in 2011.

Few artists can claim to have invented a musical style. Aretha Franklin was too modest and understated to say so, but she played a major role in creating modern R'n'B, and her singing technique is imitated by many 21st century performers.

The guest list of contributors across the two programmes shows the kind of esteem in which she's held by fellow musicians and admirers: Elton John, George Michael, Dionne Warwick, Ben E King, Jennifer Hudson, Michael McDonald, record mogul Clive Davis, producer Narada Michael Walden and many others, all help explain exactly what made "Lady Soul" unique.

Episode 1, follows the young artist's journey from the church to the charts, singing in her father's church in Detroit and on the road, even after becoming a teenage single parent. Paul considers her often-overlooked time Columbia Records, where Aretha showed her versatility as an interpreter of gospel and secular compositions.

Then the story moves to Atlantic Records, for whom Aretha signed in late 1966 and, where she truly found her voice. Rick Hall, co-founder of FAME Studios, describes how she travelled south and went about creating her first two Atlantic gems, I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) and Do Right Woman - Do Right Man: "I don't think she uttered a word except 'I need to use the bathroom,' or 'How you doing?' he says. As her body of work on Atlantic expanded, with such all-time classics as Respect and Chain of Fools, Franklin's fellow artists knew they were listening to a truly great artist.

First broadcast on BBC Radio 2 in 2011.

Aretha Franklin - Amazing Grace
Aretha Franklin - Until You Come Back To Me (That's What I'm Gonna Do) [Warner]
Eurythmics And Aretha Franklin - Sisters Are Doin' It For Themselves [Arista]
Aretha Franklin - Respect
Aretha Franklin - The House That Jack Built
Aretha Franklin - You Grow Closer
Aretha Franklin - My Guy
Aretha Franklin - Today I Sing The Blues [Columbia/Legacy]
Aretha Franklin - Won't Be Long [Columbia/Legacy]
Aretha Franklin - Over The Rainbow [Arista]
Aretha Franklin - Are You Sure [Columbia]
Aretha Franklin - It Ain't Necessarily So [Columbia/Legacy]
Aretha Franklin - What A Diff'rence A Day Made [Crimson]
Aretha Franklin - Walk On By [CBS]
Aretha Franklin - Skylark [Columbia/Legacy]
Aretha Franklin - Save Me [Atlantic]
Aretha Franklin - Baby Baby Baby [Atlantic]
Aretha Franklin - I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) [Arista]
Aretha Franklin - Do Right Woman - Do Right Man [Arista]
Aretha Franklin - Respect [Atlantic]
Aretha Franklin - You Are My Sunshine [Rhino]
Aretha Franklin - Chain Of Fools [WSM/BMG]
Aretha Franklin - Ain't No Way
Aretha Franklin - (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman [Columbia]
Aretha Franklin - Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby) [WSM/BMG)
Aretha Franklin - Think [Warner Esp.]
Aretha Franklin - I Say A Little Prayer [Warner Music]
Aretha Franklin - The Weight
Aretha Franklin - Eleanor Rigby

No comments:

Post a comment