Tuesday, 16 May 2017

The Chuck Berry Story - 4. Episode 4

THE CHUCK BERRY STORY - 4. EPISODE 4 (320kbs-m4a/62mb/27mins)
BBC Radio 6 Music broadcast: 21st April 2017

Chuck Berry, who died on 18th March 2017 aged 90, was a pioneering and highly influential singer, songwriter and guitarist. Known as the Shakespeare of rock 'n' roll, he was also one of its founding fathers. There's another chance to hear a 6-part series first broadcast in 2003, presented by Who vocalist and Berry fan, Roger Daltrey.

This edition recalls Berry's 1962 conviction under the Mann Act, which resulted in 18 months' imprisonment and also inspired classics such as Promised Land, Nadine and No Particular Place to Go.

First broadcast on BBC Radio 2 in 2003.

Chuck Berry - Have Mercy Judge [Chess]
Chuck Berry - Worried Life Blues [Ace]
Chuck Berry - O Rangutang [Chess International]
Chuck Berry - Bye Bye Johnny [MCA]
Chuck Berry - I'm Talking About You [Spectrum]
Chuck Berry - Come On [Connoisseur Collection]
Chuck Berry - No Particular Place To Go [Telstar]
Chuck Berry - Promised Land [MCA]
Chuck Berry - Nadine [Chess]
Chuck Berry - Memphis Tennessee [Virgin]
Chuck Berry - Let It Rock [Geffen]

No comments:

Post a Comment